Animation Specs

In order to create a good script you need need to 1) read scripts and 2) write scripts. For me a good way to practice, in other words improve my writing is by writing spec scripts. The characters and the world has been set for you. All you need to do is write a story around the characters and in their world. None of this canon stuff. You must stick to the characters and to the world that has already been created.

It’s not that hard.

Okay. Not true. It’s always hard. But it’s good practice. Jeffrey Scott mentions on his book, How to Write for Animation that after the 5th script you are probably doing something right (I’m paraphrasing here). And I believe this to be true.

I love animation. I’m a kid at heart and I’m not embarrass to tell people I want to write for animation. Most people see cartoons as a “kid” thing. Only kids enjoy cartoons. If you’re an adult and still watch cartoons instead of reality TV, comedies, dramas, etc you haven’t grown up.

I disagree.

I believe it takes a special person that’s still a kid at heart to write stories for children and adults. And quite frankly I want to be that person one day.

I’ve written a few spec scripts. Yes, they are not great but I believe they are helping me get to where I need to be. Practice makes perfect but in my case practice makes me just a little better every time. Not perfect.

I finally started posting some of my specs scripts up. And by some I mean just one. I’m going over some of my other scripts and editing them because even though they won’t be read by agents, producers, etc., they will be read.

For me to get better I need to expose my writing out there and there’s no better way than by sharing it with you.

I’ll be adding more spec scripts and I hope to one day have a decent spec script and a pilot that’s worth sharing with the right people.

But until that day comes please stop by anytime and look under specs. I hope to start putting more up and chances are I will let you all know every time a new script goes up.

And remember feedback is welcome.

And so here’s my first spec script. I decided to go for something for my childhood to test the waters. Hope you enjoy.

babar

Spec to my Babar script

Leave a Reply

