Where to Begin

 

This particular story won’t leave me alone and the characters always come back with a lot more details for me. In a way, it feels that they are taking over (which isn’t always a bad thing) but it sure can drive me crazy at times.

On a recent post I wrote about how I want to implement the Save the Cat software this year.  However, before I even begin using Blake Snyder’s method I thought it was only fair to start from scratch again. Meaning, rewrite backstories, loglines, inciting incidents–the basics.

Because I have a 9-5 type of job, I need to manage my time wisely so even though I am trying to get into the hobbit of writing one-hour a day, there are times when it’s hard to do so, but I it doesn’t mean I’ll give up either.

Week of 1/14

Last week all I worked on were backstories. Whether a character only has a few lines or is part of the bigger picture, I believe that knowing where they come from, what they like or dislike, or anything in between is well worth it. This is what makes them real because just like you and me, they too have a history.

Week of 1/21

This week I am working on loglines, which I find hard to do. Am I the only one who feels this way?

I really want to make at least three decent ones and hopefully post them up later this week for feedback. Believe me, this will be much appreciate it. I started working on them yesterday–reading articles and writing some of them.

So much to do so little time!

Eva

Leave a Reply

