2013 is the year of Save the Cat!

I will confess, I didn’t accomplish what I wanted in 2012. Especially when it came to my writing. Life happened and at the time I thought there was nothing I could’ve done but the truth is, maybe there was. After all, writing is what I love and that means that I should’ve made time for it. Because I did have time. It’s one of those, “I should have kicked myself” moments.

But that was 2012. It happened and I have learned from it. Move on.

Before 2012 ended, I started to think about how to make 2013 better and during that time I started to read Save the Cat! by Blake Snyder. Coincidence? Destiny? Me being crazy?

Maybe.

And  that’s when I decided that in 2013 I would implement the Save the Cat method  in the project that I have created for this year.

I have a script to write–2013 is the year for it. And to keep myself going I’ll blog about it.

I don’t know how far I’ll go or if Blake’s method will work for me, but there is only one way to find out.

Wish me luck!

Eva

5 thoughts on “2013 is the year of Save the Cat!

  1. Sometimes, even when we have the time to write, we don’t have the time. But yes, we should always do whatever we can to make the time. That’s why I’m awake at 2 in the morning trying to finish an article that I have no desire to write. If it helps, I didn’t achieve everything I wanted to this year, and that includes more than just writing. You’re a step ahead of me though, because you had the wisdom to look back and see that time could have been made. I think maybe I should follow your lead and take a second look at Save the Cat to get my fanny in gear.

    Also, good luck this year! I hope your writing goals are met and then some. You have incredible talent and you certainly deserve it.

    • Thank you for your kind words! Writing can be our worst enemies at times. I say, maybe this year we should become each others supporters. We may live in different cities but we have goals that are in common. And maybe this will help us :). You know pull each others hair lol. Being part of a writing community is definitely a plus. For example, on Twitter there’s a community for TV and screenplay writers. Their hashtags are #scriptchat and #tvwriterchat. You should look into it.

      As for Save the Cat, I saw it as an “AHA!” moment. There’s a software for it also. I’m looking forward to using it. But first I need to rewrite biographies and such. I’m starting from scratch on this ;).

      Mind you it’s the project that involves Johnny. I know it has potential and slowly I’ve been able to see it a lot clearer. Who he is has changed. I’ve come to know him a lot more. The story has changed and some characters have come and go. I’m kind of excited about it :).

      • I think that’s a great idea, and I will definitely look into it.
        Starting from scratch can be really helpful. I’m starting from scratch on a project as well. And I’m glad your still working with Johnny. I really liked him as a character. He has a story to tell, one that you really want to know. Would you mind sending me a copy of the finished project in the future? I’d love to read it.

Leave a Reply

