In my Dreams

I saw you in my dreams last night. We locked eyes and you smiled at me.

Those butterflies that I haven’t felt in a very long time came tumbling back.

Those feelings that I thought were gone came back from the death.

I felt alive.

I felt your love.

You motion for me to come and you even mouthed, “please.”

I was scared–frightened.

Like a lost child, I didn’t know what to do.

A gentle breeze passed by me, “go on child,” it whispered.

My feet started moving on their own and I didn’t fight it.

The closer I came to you, the more I trembled.

Was this for real?

Was I finally going to be able to touch you again?

My hopes came rushing in. A shy smile adorned my face.

I felt young again and ran the rest of the way.

I jumped into your arms and told you, “Please! Please don’t leave me again.”

As you caressed my hair you whispered, “be brave.”

I embrace you tighter. I know what’s going to happen again and I don’t want this to end.

Please don’t let this end.

Please don’t take this away from me.

Please!

Yet I know that even if I beg it won’t come true.

The same wretched wind that brings us together every night makes an appearance.

Only this time it takes you with her. I try to hold on. I do.

But in the end, I end up where I started and I wonder, will I ever be able to move on without thinking of you?

Leave a Reply

