Just Because We Don’t Admit It

For this week’s prompt I was thinking of something happy and fun, but as I actually sat down to write, this came out instead. Enjoy!

PROMPT: …as the apple fell…

They say we can’t take everything for granted— that we need to appreciate everything we have.

When we are teens we don’t really think about it. Everything will be there the next day. We are not starting from scratch. Like a game, we continue where we left off.

But when the unexpected happens. When we get pull down by gravity. Somehow we aren’t so invincible. And as I was under that tree and as the apple fell, I didn’t need to be reminded.

In truth, I’ve always known. I just don’t want to think about it. I want to appreciate what I have while it’s still here.

Leave a Reply

