So What’s The Difference Between Screenwriters?

Have you ever wonder what differentiate a professional screenwriter from the rest of us? I know I have. Actually this has been a question that has been bugging me lately! I know hard work and determination is important.

But how do we differ?

Are they a special group of individuals that were chosen at birth?

Are they the selective few?

The exception to the rule?

What makes a successful screenwriter?!

The answer?

They write.

Some of us writers tend to read books and scripts. Know the structure and format to a script. Go to workshops and networking events, but how many times do we stop and just write?

And I don’t mean outlines, summaries to our stories, writing prompts, and anything in between. I mean sit down and work on a story?

Work on a new project from beginning to end.

It’s scary.

I understand. I’m scared too. Making mistakes. Proving just how we are not  professionals.

But even professionals had to begin somewhere.

Believe me, all those successful screenwriters were as bad or worser than us, but they kept going.

They kept on writing.

Perfecting their craft.

If we want to get to their level, we need to write. We need to be self-driven and confident in ourselves. We need to learn from them.

We have the passion for writing. So it is time to prove it.

So what are you waiting for?

Write!

Even if it’s 30 minutes a day. Wok on your project. It might take longer than usual but at least you will be getting there.

Make time.

Now if you are as curious as I was about what makes a successful screenwriter check this article. I stumbled upon it when I was trying to find my answer. It’s informative, fun, and who knows, it might be inspirational to you.

Until next time,

Eva

Leave a Reply

