Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover

For this week’s challenge I tried doing something different. Comments, likes, criticism (the good kind) is always welcome. 🙂

This week’s prompt: “in the dark recess of my mind.”

~~~~~~~~

They say I shouldn’t worry.

They tell me it will be okay.

They say I’m too young to think about what’s going on.

But how can I not worry if every time I turn on the television it’s there.

The economy; the war…

I may be young but I am the future— at least that’s what I’m told.

Yet when they see how I am dressed or how I talk I’m judged.

But I shouldn’t. I’m just trying to find out who I am.

Yet I can’t speak so all of this I keep in the dark recess of my mind.

16 thoughts on “Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover

  1. Interesting. I wonder just how young this person is – she can’t talk could mean that we are hearing from a baby, or maybe she’s just not old enough to have a public voice. I like the notion that someone still experimenting with their identity is not taken seriously when they have an opinion on anything important.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it! That’s what I love about writing, the fact that it can be interpreted in many different ways. Thank you for taking the time to comment. 🙂

  2. Yes, it’s very frustrating to be old enough to have opinions but young enough to be brushed aside. But then again – you’ll probably outlive the critics, and set your own standards that the new batch of young people won’t meet! 😉

  3. Lots of good things to think about here. Because you said you welcomed comments, I thought you might like to look at this line again:
    Yet when they see how I am dress or how I talk I’m judge.
    I’m not sure if you meant to write it like that, or whether it might read better as
    Yet when they see how I am dressed or how I talk I’m judged.
    No offence meant if you deliberately wrote it the first way!

Leave a Reply

