A Writer’s Backbone is Created Through Rejection

I don’t know about you but there are times when my most intellectual thoughts come to me while in the shower. I have a tendency of having too many “AHA!” moments there.

Is it odd? I don’t think so.

After all, we all have a place were our “AHA!” moments tend to appear. Think about it. Where do you go, “AHA!”?

This week’s “AHA!” moment related to writing fellowships. I am aware that Nickelodeon and Disney have their entries during the beginning of the year and obviously I missed out.

Every time I say to myself that I’ll do it this year; I just don’t! And it gets frustrated because I begin to wonder why I don’t even try. The only way to find out if you get rejected or accept it is by submitting the script.

I can’t tell myself how I would get rejected either way if I didn’t even submitted anything.

Quite stupid really.

Besides, the whole point of being a writer is to write to submit– just to be rejected a few times to give us that backbone to continue.

And as I was in the shower it came to me…

When a senior in high school knows that he/she wants to attend an ivy league university, he/she will study hard ( in advance) for the SATS and ACTS.

When an undergraduate knows that he/she wants to attend law or med school, they will study hard in advance because they want to make sure to have that Β high score that’s needed.

It’s all about not leaving it for last minute. It’s about preparing in advance to give you an upper hand.

Will you get in?

You won’t really know until you get the results. But the fact that you put in 110% will be reflected.

Isn’t it always?

And as writers we need to do the same.

If we know that there is a writing fellowship or a writing contest coming up in a few months and we want to participate we need to prepare. Wether is researching, reading those resources, writing, and rewriting Β we need to prepare to give our best work.

I want to give the Disney or Nickelodeon writing fellowship a go. And I too need to prepare in advance. I love animated series. I do. And I even have a book on how to write for animation.

The only problem is…I haven’t open it.

How am I suppose to write for something I want if I’m not even trying?

So that’s what my “AHA!” was about. I will do it this year. I will read and prepare. I will enter a fellowship competition.

I have nothing to lose but deem myself a coward for not even trying.

And we as writes shouldn’t deem ourselves anything but writers.

Until next time,

Eva

“It is defeat that turned bone to flint; it is defeat that turns gristle to muscle; it is defeat that makes men invincible. Do not then be afraid of defeat. You are never so near to victory as when defeated in a good cause.” ~ Henry Ward Beecher


Leave a Reply

