This Week’s Great Finds

I wanted to start this series on Sunday but since I was on vacation I didn’t bring myself to write. I was just relaxing and having fun. We all need time to just clear our minds after all.

Basically every Sunday this post will be filled with links to blogs and articles that I found interesting during the week. There are so many great tips, websites, and writers out there with great insight! I usually don’t share on Twitter articles I read unless I find them worth reading. Of course this doesn’t mean you have to agree with me. In fact what I might consider a great find might not be one to you and that’s fine.

So for the last past week this is what I saw as Great Finds:

“Behind the Lines with DR: I’m a Lying Liar” is a fun piece revolving on the dreaded question, “What do you do?”  I believe we can all relate. Especially when you say, “I’m a writer.” You know more questions will come your way. So if you want a good laugh check it out!

Doug Richardson is the writer to movies like Bad Boys, Hostage, and Money Train to name a few. His blog is not only filled with tips but he writes about his experience writing for Hollywood. If your goal is to be able to a screenwriter, he should be someone you follow.

“Ask the Expert: All About Flashbacks” is an informative piece on how to handle flashbacks. Personally I find flashback hard to write about on a screenplay. Maybe it’s just me…but the methods shared by Dave Trotter are pretty easy to understand. In fact he wrote The Screenwriter’s Bible and I’m considering on purchasing the book. I’ve done my research and its had good reviews. Worth checking out.

Now this piece is great for TV Writers. “What makes a good TV series idea” is, you guessed it, about the TV series idea. He basically tells us that the pilots should be an example of an episode and not the first installment. If you think about it and go over those pilots that have made it and those that have died in the process, you can come to realize that maybe Erik might have a point.

Another great piece on sitcoms. This one piece focuses on tips on how to sell your TV show. “Vanessa Parise on how to sell a TV Show and Live to Tell About it,” might be a good informative article for those ready to go out there and pitch their stories.

Now the following blog was last week’s website of the week via Scriptmag.com. I checked it out and I can totally see why. Eric is a script reader and consultant who shares many tips via Twitter. And tell me, who wouldn’t want tips by those who are in the business that we want to break into?

Lastly it is the article on “The Scoggins Report: 2012 Spec Market Scorecard.” I didn’t even know such a report existed! It shows what’s trending in Hollywood–script wise that is. It’s  a great resource for the writers trying to see what Hollywood is itching to buy.

2 thoughts on “This Week’s Great Finds

Leave a Reply

