Plot Point I is Only the Beginning

All Rights to Creator

“A journey of a thousand miles begin with a single step.”~Chinese Proverb

 

When I shared my thoughts about the inciting incident I compared it to the beginning of a dominoes effect. After all, the inciting incident is what pushes the real story to begin (you can reread the post here).

Now on to plot point I. Believe it or not, this is actually crucial.

Before entering my writing program I didn’t know what the big deal was. I mean a story is a story and all we need is to get from Point A to point B. The End.

Yeah, I was wrong.

What’s important is defining how to get from A to B. ย Which is why plot point I is the beginning of the path the protagonist has to take to start the true adventure. You know, the one that changes his or her life.

For example:

Timothy has always been happy living in his comfort zone and not being push to try new things. This may be because he is afraid of change [ his world ].

One day his friend, Alex, dares him to do something unexpected, Timothy is hesitant but finally gives in [inciting incident].

Both young men go to a bar on the other side of the city where Timothy has to pick up a chick. However, the young lady he chooses is none other than, Maxine, a ย free spirit [ beginning of plot point I].

The protagonist has to be removed from his or her ordinary world for the transformation to begin. In this case, Timothy was dared to leave his world by Alex. In the process he met Maxine, who will take him on an unexpected adventure.

So as you continue or begin your next (or first) screenplay or manuscript make sure there is an individual or event that is plot point I (the turn of events). The inciting incident takes the character to where plot point I needs to begin.

And remember, the only way to really understand the structure is to keep on working on it. Writing isn’t about making it perfect. Writing is about making it better, something you and I are working on.

Till next time,

Eva

Leave a Reply

