But what I am Thankful for is…

       “I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought, and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.” ~ Gilbert Keith Chesterton

I had two topics I’ve been itching to write about this week:  social media and the second one based on an article by @jeannevb. Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately) I didn’t. Instead today I wanted to just write about being thankful. Yes, I am thankful for my family, boyfriend, and friends. They have all pushed me one way or another to write. Whether is by venting–giving me many ideas for stories– or by critiquing my work, or even just being there and making me believe that I can make it. Believe me, I can write an entire post on just them and how they have helped me one way or another. But what I am thankful for this year is…

Writing

Writing has helped me find out what I truly want to do with my life. It has showed me that I have the potential and creativity to make something. To create that one story that can connect with people. Writing has showed me what I am truly made of. It has showed me that yes, my 5th grade teacher was right. It has also proved that I was a fool when I was younger for not majoring in English.

I think that when we tend to reflect we come to realize (or come to accept) the many mistakes we’ve made. But that’s not the point. The point should be to take those mistakes and learn from them.

Writing has become my sanity.

And I am thankful for that.

Happy Thanksgiving

2 thoughts on “But what I am Thankful for is…

Leave a Reply

